I’ve Dedicated My Life To Fighting For My Clients

Aggressive Defense For Clients Charged With Driving Under The Influence In Illinois

Thousands of Illinois drivers are arrested yearly for driving under the influence (DUI). Some of these arrests are from drunk drivers who were truly irresponsible. However, some can be arrested and charged with a DUI or DWI having little or no alcohol in their system. Being convicted of a DUI, even if it’s your first time, could result in serious penalties, heavy fines, jail time, and a suspended license. At PGO Law Firm, I know how easily and quickly you can be unexpectedly pulled over by the police despite feeling well behind the wheel. If a routine traffic stop leads to you facing a DUI charge, you need a tough first-offense DUI lawyer to look out for you.

I have been a practicing criminal defense attorney for years, and I am certified in several different areas crucial to defending DWI first offenders, such as being a member of NACDL (National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers), NCDD (National College of DUI Defense), and having training in field sobriety testing.

It’s important to remember that a DUI or DWI charge is not the same as a conviction. The law allows you the opportunity to defend against the accusations. With the help of an experienced first-offense DUI attorney in Will County, you can reduce your chances of reducing the charges or dismissing them completely.

What Are The Penalties For A First DUI In Illinois?

Even for a first-time offender, the penalties for a DUI are severe. The scope of these penalties depends on the circumstances of the incident, your age, your blood alcohol concentration (BAC), and if any accidents occurred that caused a death or injury.

First-time offenders of a DUI or DWI in Illinois can face the following:

  • Fines up to $1,000
  • Up to 1 year in jail.
  • 12 points assessed on your driving record
  • Suspended license for up to 6 months

There is also a possibility that you will have to participate in an ignition interlock program where you will not be able to operate your car if you have too much alcohol. At the court’s discretion, they can also require you to attend an alcohol abuse program.

The Sound Guidance You Need To Protect Your Future

When you are stressed about your DWI charges, and it’s your first time, you may wonder if it’s really necessary to enlist the help of a criminal defense attorney. You may feel that you will be let off lightly because you don’t have a criminal record. You cannot depend on the justice system for leniency, as the prosecution will seek to convict you and punish you with the harshest penalties possible.

Further, the administrative and legal processes can be quite complex if you are inexperienced with the systems. Hiring a DUI attorney to navigate you through confusing legal hurdles and develop a strong defense will give you your best shot at a favorable outcome.

I will thoroughly examine your case and consider the evidence and circumstances of your arrest before crafting a tailored defense strategy.

Common ways to fight a DUI charge include:

  • Challenging the original traffic stop
  • Questioning the BAC measurements and validity
  • Violation of constitutional rights
  • Lack of evidence that you were driving or in control of the vehicle

Finding an appropriate and effective defense is a large part of what a DUI defense attorney will do. With years of experience helping clients in the New Lenox area, I understand the local legal landscape and how to craft defenses that protect your rights and future. When you work with me, I will help you through every step of your case, from providing sound advice during police questioning to assistance in getting your license reinstated.

Obtain The Legal Help You Need

After a DUI charge, it is best to retain a knowledgeable attorney to handle your case. Going through the legal process alone greatly reduces your chances of being vindicated. Let me simplify the process for you and give you your best chance at preserving your future. Call PGO Law Firm today at 630-912-5051 or contact me online to schedule a free case evaluation.