The cost of a DUI conviction in terms of fines and court costs, in addition to the cost to enroll in court-ordered alcohol rehabilitation classes, can be staggering. There may also be the monthly cost associated with being required to install an ignition interlock device. More important is the cost to your livelihood if the DUI results in the loss of your driving privileges. This is a hardship in itself. How are you going to get to work if you are unable to drive? This is particularly difficult if your community does not have a good public transportation system. Having to rely on family & friends to get to work or school all the time can be challenging.
The importance of having an experienced & qualified Will County DUI defense lawyer cannot be overstated. Bringing on someone who knows how to handle DUI cases is essential to avoid the serious consequences of a DUI charge. At PGO Law Firm, we understand the complexities of Illinois DUI laws and are ready to provide you with skilled legal representation. We work tirelessly to ensure that you obtain the best possible outcome in your case and that your rights are protected throughout the legal process.
Illinois DUI Laws
In Illinois, the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is 0.08%. It is considered illegal for anyone over the age of 21 to operate or be in physical control of a vehicle with a BAC at or above this level. Additionally, Illinois has Aggravated DUI laws, making it a more serious offense for individuals driving with a BAC of 0.16% or higher. This offense may result in harsher penalties than a first-time offender charged with a regular DUI.
While it is illegal to drink and drive at any age, individuals that are under 21 are held to a zero-tolerance policy. This means that if an individual is caught with even a 0.01% BAC, that individual can be charged with a DUI.
If you are being faced with charges for a DUI in the state of Illinois, seeking experienced legal representation from PGO Law Firm should be your first step.
DUI Cases We Handle
Our Will County DUI lawyer can help defend you for the following drunk driving-related charges:
Don’t Ignore Your First DUI Charge
Sometimes, those who have been accused of a DUI choose not to fight the charges because they feel that the penalties are not particularly severe and it is not worth involving a DUI attorney.
The consequences for DUI can be significant, however, even for the first offense. Heavy fines and possible jail are often called for, as well as a lengthy license suspension. The number of DUIs a person has been convicted of in the past is also relevant; if a driver does not successfully challenge his or her first DUI, the penalties for any subsequent drunk driving charges will be much more severe. It serves drivers to defend themselves against every DUI charge and to protect both their present and their future.
The following penalties may apply for a 1st DUI conviction in Illinois:
- 1-year driver’s license revocation
- Up to 1 year in jail months in jail
- Fine of at least $1,000
- 100 hours of community service if BAC is above .16
- Drug/alcohol program
- Ignition interlock device
Subsequent DUI Convictions
You are in much more serious trouble if you are arrested and charged with a 2nd or 3rd DUI offense. Hiring the PGO Law Firm can be the first step to escaping the severe penalties that accompany this dilemma. Schedule an appointment with the PGO Law Firm, even if it is your 1st DUI offense. In order to retain your driving privileges, you must receive a suspended sentence. In certain circumstances that are prescribed by statute, if the first DUI is of such a nature, the judge, in his discretion, can prohibit a first offender from receiving a suspended sentence and, instead, issue a conviction. If that happens, your driving privileges will be revoked.
Is a DUI a Felony in Illinois?
In Illinois, a DUI charge can either be considered a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances. If it is your first offense and you were driving without any aggravating factors, it will usually be charged as a Class A misdemeanor.
However, if you are found to have been driving under the influence with certain aggravating factors, such as transporting a child under 16 years old or being involved in an accident involving bodily harm or death, you could face felony charges and much harsher penalties. Furthermore, a third or subsequent DUI offense will be charged as a felony.
If you are facing a felony DUI charge in Illinois, a conviction can result in prison time, fines worth tens of thousands of dollars, and a permanent criminal record that could haunt you for the rest of your life. Let our firm protect your rights and freedom inside and outside the courtroom.
Defenses Against DUI in Illinois
In Illinois, facing DUI charges can be a daunting experience, but individuals have the right to mount a defense and challenge the accusations. There are multiple legal defenses may be employed to contest DUI charges:
- Improper Stop or Arrest: If law enforcement lacks reasonable suspicion to stop a vehicle or probable cause to make an arrest, it may be grounds for challenging the charges.
- Field Sobriety Tests Inaccuracy: Field sobriety tests, often subjective in nature, may be challenged based on factors such as weather conditions, physical impairments, or procedural errors.
- Breathalyzer Calibration Issues: The accuracy of breathalyzer results can be challenged if the device was not properly calibrated or maintained, potentially leading to unreliable blood alcohol concentration (BAC) readings.
- Medical Conditions: It is possible for medical conditions or prescribed medications to impact sobriety testing or cause inaccurate BAC readings, serving as a valid defense.
- Failure to Provide Miranda Warnings: Miranda warnings may be inadmissible in court if law enforcement does not provide them during an arrest.
- Rising BAC Defense: A rising blood alcohol content defense argues that the BAC was below the legal limit at the time of driving but had increased after being stopped by law enforcement.
Navigating DUI defenses in Illinois requires a thorough understanding of the specific circumstances surrounding the arrest. Consulting with an experienced Will County DUI defense attorney can help individuals explore the most effective defense strategies tailored to their case.
Contact our DUI attorney in Will County today at PGO Law Firm for experienced defense.
The PGO Law Firm can also assist you if you have been given a statutory summary suspension. This is an automatic driver’s license suspension that occurs when a driver fails a drug or alcohol test or refuses to take one. The statutory summary suspension can have sweeping effects on a person’s life, limiting his or her ability to go to work or visit family. The PGO Law Firm will be able to challenge this suspension & fight vigorously on your behalf. This is a service that your public defender will not be able to provide.
Contact Our DUI Lawyer Today
On the surface, the penalties may seem manageable, but most people do not realize just how much they rely on their vehicles until they are legally restricted from driving them. Small tasks like going to the store or bringing your kids to school can become big headaches as you arrange rides and call in favors. Employment opportunities may become few and far between as you find that you can only do feasible work at locations within walking distance.
Contact the PGO Law Firm today to get started on your defense with our DUI attorney in Will County.