DUI Lawyer -- Frankfort, IL.

Serving Mokena, Tinley Park, New Lenox, Orland Park & Throughout Cook & Will County

The cost in terms of fines and court costs in addition to the cost to enroll in court-ordered alcohol rehabilitation classes can be staggering.  There may also be the monthly cost associated with being required to install an ignition interlock device.  More importantly is the cost to your livelihood if the DUI results in the loss of your driving privileges.  This is a hardship in itself.  How are you going to get to work if you are unable to drive?  This is particularly difficult if your community does not have a good public transportation system.  Having to rely on family & friends to get to work or school all the time can be challenging.  The importance of having an experienced & qualified DUI lawyer at the PGO Law Firm who knows how to handle DUI cases in Cook & Will County is essential to avoid the serious consequences of a DUI charge.

You are in a lot more serious trouble if you are arrested and charged with a 2nd or 3rd DUI offense.  Hiring the PGO Law Firm can be the 1st step to escaping the severe penalties that accompany this dilemma.  Schedule an appointment with the PGO Law Firm even if it is your 1st DUI offense.  In order to retain your driving privileges, you must receive a suspended sentence.  In certain circumstances that are prescribed by statute, if the first DUI is of such a nature, the judge in his discretion can prohibit a first offender from receiving a suspended sentence, and instead, issue a conviction.  If that happens, your driving privileges will be revoked.

Don’t Ignore Your First DUI Charge

Sometimes, those who have been accused of a DUI choose not to fight the charges because they feel that the penalties are not particularly severe, and it is not worth involving an attorney.

The consequences for DUI can be significant, however, even for the first offense. Heavy fines and possible jail are often called for, as well as a lengthy license suspension. The number of DUIs a person has been convicted of in the past is also relevant, if a driver does not successfully challenge his or her first DUI, the penalties for any subsequent drunk driving charges will be much more severe. It serves drivers to defend themselves against every DUI charge, to protect both their present and their future.

First DUI Conviction Penalties

The following penalties may apply for a 1st DUI conviction in Illinois:

  • 1-year driver’s license revocation
  • Up to 1 year in jail months in jail
  • Fine of at least $1,000
  • 100 hours of community service if BAC is above .16
  • Drug/alcohol program
  • Ignition interlock device

DUI Defense Against Automatic License Suspension

The PGO Law Firm can also assist you if you have been given a statutory summary suspension. This is an automatic driver’s license suspension that occurs when a driver fails a drug or alcohol test, or refuses to take one. The statutory summary suspension can have sweeping effects on a person’s life, limiting his or her ability to go to work or visit family. The PGO Law Firm will be able to challenge this suspension & fight vigorously on your behalf. This is a service that your public defender will not be able to provide.

Underage DUI in Illinois

In the state of Illinois, adults must be 21-years-old or older in order to consume alcohol. While it is illegal to drink and drive at any age, individuals that are under 21 are held to a zero-tolerance policy. This means that if an individual is caught with even a 0.01% BAC that individual can be charged with a DUI.

On the surface, the penalties may seem manageable but most people do not realize just how much they rely on their vehicle until they are legally restricted from driving it. Small tasks like going to the store or bringing your kids to school can become big headaches as you arrange rides and call in favors. Employment opportunities may become few and far between as you find that you can only do feasible work at locations within walking distance. Contact the PGO Law Firm today and let us help you fight your DUI charge(s).

The cost in terms of fines and court costs in addition to the cost to enroll in court-ordered alcohol rehabilitation classes can be staggering.  There may also be the monthly cost associated with being required to install an ignition interlock device.  More importantly is the cost to your livelihood if the DUI results in the loss of your driving privileges.  This is a hardship in itself.  How are you going to get to work if you are unable to drive?  This is particularly difficult if your community does not have a good public transportation system.  Having to rely on family & friends to get to work or school all the time can be challenging.  The importance of having an experienced & qualified DUI lawyer at the PGO Law Firm who knows how to handle DUI cases in Cook & Will County is essential to avoid the serious consequences of a DUI charge.

You are in a lot more serious trouble if you are arrested and charged with a 2nd or 3rd DUI offense.  Hiring the PGO Law Firm can be the 1st step to escaping the severe penalties that accompany this dilemma.  Schedule an appointment with the PGO Law Firm even if it is your 1st DUI offense.  In order to retain your driving privileges, you must receive a suspended sentence.  In certain circumstances that are prescribed by statute, if the first DUI is of such a nature, the judge in his discretion can prohibit a first offender from receiving a suspended sentence, and instead, issue a conviction.  If that happens, your driving privileges will be revoked.

Don’t Ignore Your First DUI Charge

Sometimes, those who have been accused of a DUI choose not to fight the charges because they feel that the penalties are not particularly severe, and it is not worth involving an attorney.

The consequences for DUI can be significant, however, even for the first offense. Heavy fines and possible jail are often called for, as well as a lengthy license suspension. The number of DUIs a person has been convicted of in the past is also relevant, if a driver does not successfully challenge his or her first DUI, the penalties for any subsequent drunk driving charges will be much more severe. It serves drivers to defend themselves against every DUI charge, to protect both their present and their future.

First DUI Conviction Penalties

The following penalties may apply for a 1st DUI conviction in Illinois:

  • 1-year driver’s license revocation
  • Up to 1 year in jail months in jail
  • Fine of at least $1,000
  • 100 hours of community service if BAC is above .16
  • Drug/alcohol program
  • Ignition interlock device

DUI Defense Against Automatic License Suspension

The PGO Law Firm can also assist you if you have been given a statutory summary suspension. This is an automatic driver’s license suspension that occurs when a driver fails a drug or alcohol test, or refuses to take one. The statutory summary suspension can have sweeping effects on a person’s life, limiting his or her ability to go to work or visit family. The PGO Law Firm will be able to challenge this suspension & fight vigorously on your behalf. This is a service that your public defender will not be able to provide.

Underage DUI in Illinois

In the state of Illinois, adults must be 21-years-old or older in order to consume alcohol. While it is illegal to drink and drive at any age, individuals that are under 21 are held to a zero-tolerance policy. This means that if an individual is caught with even a 0.01% BAC that individual can be charged with a DUI.

On the surface, the penalties may seem manageable but most people do not realize just how much they rely on their vehicle until they are legally restricted from driving it. Small tasks like going to the store or bringing your kids to school can become big headaches as you arrange rides and call in favors. Employment opportunities may become few and far between as you find that you can only do feasible work at locations within walking distance. Contact the PGO Law Firm today and let us help you fight your DUI charge(s).

Contact Us

Contact