Assault & Battery
ASSAULT & BATTERY LAWYER in FRANKFORT, IL.
Serving Mokena, Tinley Park, New Lenox, Orland Park & Throughout Cook & Will County
In Illinois, you can be charged with assault even if you never physically touched someone. Assault is defined as an action that makes someone feel threatened, such as raising a fist or telling someone you’re going to hurt them. A battery charge is applied when someone carries through with the threat and attacks someone, which is why the two often charged together.
Aggravated assault may be charged as a Class A misdemeanor or a Class 4 felony in Illinois, with maximum penalties ranging from 1 year in county jail to 3 years in state prison. At the PGO Law Firm, we can explain to you what you are up against and what options you have in challenging aggravated assault charges. The PGO Law Firm, we take the time to get to know our clients' charges so we can fully understand what they are going through and take the appropriate steps to protect their interests.
The vague nature of “threatening behavior,” it is possible for someone to be charged with assault even if they were not trying to harm someone. If you have been charged with this crime, the experienced assault lawyers at PGO Law Firm can help.
Simple assault may be described as unlawfully placing another in reasonable fear of bodily harm. An attempt or threat of violence, whether or not the act was carried out, may constitute simple assault. With aggravated assault, a defendant is accused of assault with another factor involved. These aggravating assault factors increase the severity of the charge and the penalties that may be imposed upon a conviction.
Examples of Aggravated Assault Include:
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Concealing one’s identity or a firearm
- Assault against a teacher, firefighter or law enforcement
- Assault against a physically handicapped person or an elderly person
- Assault against a Public Aid Department employee or employee of the State of Illinois
- Discharging a firearm during an assault
You can be charged with battery if you physically attacked an individual or made physical contact of a provoking or insulting nature. In many cases, battery is preceded by threatening behavior, which is why assault and battery are often charged together.
Battery is usually charged as a Class A misdemeanor and carries the following penalties:
- $2,500 in fines
- Up to 1 year in prison
- Probation in lieu of prison
- Community service
In addition to these consequences, a conviction will also mean a permanent mark on your criminal record, which will show up on background checks when applying for jobs & housing.
In Illinois, an individual commits the crime of aggravated battery when they knowingly do any of the following:
- Cause great bodily harm
- Cause bodily harm due to a explosive or dangerous chemical
- Cause bodily harm on a police officer, fireman or public security
- Cause great bodily harm to someone over 60 years old
- Strangles an individual
When your freedom is in jeopardy, work with an aggravated assault & battery law firm who will work hard to ensure you are afforded every right provided by the U.S. Constitution and criminal justice system. Call our criminal defense team at PGO Law Firm today at (630) 448-8878 to schedule an appointment.
“Exceptional lawyer! He’s the best at what he does!” - Former Client
“Attorney O'Connor made me feel better after speaking with him. I'm going with this man for the big win!” - Former Client
“Peter is a very kind individual who is willing to work with you when it comes to financial payments.” - Esmeralda V.